2018 – you are THE BOMB!

Hi 2018!

We shared so much memories together; both good and not so good. You made me go through so much and I both lost and gained a lot for the past 12 months.

I can’t say that I would hate to see you go because honestly, I can’t wait for this year to end and for another fresh start to open for me. But, I want to thank you, 2018. Thank you for molding me to be stronger, wiser, and bolder enough to face 2019 with a fuller spirit.

My heart, although scarred and still recovering, remains grateful. You have brought so many people in my life which taught me different things but mostly about choosing about who stays and who leaves, when to hold on and when to let go, and you reminded me about the importance of putting myself on top of my priorities before anything so that I’d be able to support the people I love.

12 months together and I have lost so much, 2018. So far this has been the most heartbreaking year of my life – from letting go of a relationship, to losing friends, and losing my Lola.

My heart was crushed, my soul lost a lot of light, and my sense of self crumbled. But while you gave me much of a heartbreak, you also blessed me with people who stayed – family, real friends, new people, and did I say family? I guess what Popoy said in One More Chance was true, that “May darating na mas okay, yung taong magtatama ng lahat ng mga mali sa buhay natin.” and this resonates not only in a romantic POV but across all the relationships that I have regained, rebuilt, and discovered.

So thank you, 2018. You have been a good teacher to me and I will repay your goodness by becoming a better version of myself as I say hello to 2019.

Remaining hopeful,

Louise

Leave a comment